1997 GTX revival - not starting

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

ToddinTO

Premium Member
Premium Member
I have owned many boats over the years, but new to PWCs, yes, I know this is a long post, but want to give the forum some history on the Seadoo. I am at a loss as to where to go from here, ski has fuel, compression, spark but engine will not run . . .
------------------------------------------
We rented a few PWCs last summer and had a blast. We already have a Seadoo Utopia, but riding a PWC is a much different experience.

Not knowing how much a PWC may be used over the summer, I did not want to spend 10-20K on a new, recent model, I searched for an older model, not shying away from any TLC that may be required before use. I have many years of experience repairing all types of engines and watercraft.

I found a 1997 Seadoo GTX, seemed perfect, low center of buoyancy, 3 seater, reverse, very difficult to flip, can pull tubers/skiers, has the Rotax 787 engine (some say it is the best engine Rotax ever made), and 190 hours on the unit, so great for my daughters and wife to use as well. Owner told me it was running last fall and had been winterized, but did not want to start it, (as I was looking at in February, no chance of taking it on the water or run a hose) . . . . so, I took the chance and bought it and a trailer for a good price and started to make a list of items to make it a reliable.

What has been done (all while sitting on the trailer, not been in the water yet);
  • Got a copy of the service manual for the model year, and had a good read of the doc, and references for the Rotax 800/787, made up my list of things to review,
  • Checked compression, all good, 165 PSI both cylinders, after cranking for 10 secs,
  • Changed out all the Tempo grey fuel lines with new rubber ones, and new clamps,
  • Changed fuel filter and O ring,