1997 GTX flooding and fouling plugs after semi overhaul and carb rebuild.

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

robc

Please help... SeaDoo newbie....my first ski.... That I turned into project seadoo.

I scored a rough running 97 gtx with 132 hours in great condition, trailer and seadoo cover for $500.

Found this awesome forum, read up up on all the common issues with this ski and did some key thing before I started it up after it was sitting for 2 years. I'm a newbie to skis but my 2 stoke and gasoline engine, mechanical knowledge is on point.

--In order I did this---
Cleaned rave valves
Flushed out fuel tank
Replaced all original grey fuel lines
Changed fuel filter
Cleaned fuel selector
Changed jet pump oil
Drained counterbalance oil
Filled counterbalance oil
Changed and flushed out oil tank
Changed all oil lines
Bled oil pump and system
Changed cooling hoses
Changed bilge hoses
Trimmed plug wire ends
Put in new plugs

I cleaned out and rebuilt carbs.....
Used original jets
New 1.5 needle and seats
Checked pop off..ok
--Adjusters--
High speed- set at 0
Low speed- set at 1 turn

New battery
Added gas
Added quicksilver synthetic

Quick shot of starting fluid through the flame arrestor.
Ski fired right up and set idle to 1400 rpm in the water.
(Air box off with flame arrestor in place)

Now my issue is this......
Ski starts cold and idles a bit rough.
Jumps out of the hole.
Topped out at 57 mph....my adrenaline was pumping

When I shut down the ski it will not start unless it sits about 10 minutes or so.
Pulled plugs and they are soaked with gas.
Waited 5 minutes... Put in fresh plugs and fired right up.
Took out out for a 10 minute run, shut it down and same thing....plugs fouled and soaked with gas and had to wait 10 minutes before it would fire up again.

Please help, any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Rob