1996 Bombardier Jet Boat MISERY!!! HELP

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

soggybows

I am a first time boat owner. I researched the 96' jet boat and thought this would be the ideal starter boat because it's so light weight (I am female, I have a little daughter and I am not tech savvy). I have had nothing but heartache so far. I understand there are learning curves, but this is getting ridiculous.

When I bought it it was contingent on me getting it checked over. The boat did well... 150PSi on the rotax, no leaks, water test was good... it got a thumbs up. For the life of me I have never been able to get this boat started on my own. The techs can get it started after some work with it, but it doesn't do me any good if I can't. I seem to be flooding the spark plugs and even hydro-locked it once with a tow. I can't keep putting in new plugs every time I want to use. The techs say there is nothing wrong with the boat and that it's an old boat, and can be difficult. I don't want to give it up... but... anyone have some words of wisdom? Should I just sell it and give up?

I'm sooooo frustrated.

Sorry for the misfortune. Has anyone rebuilt the carbs? What is your starting procedure. Like put the lanyard on, pull the choke, hit start etc.... Do you ever start it on land before you put it in the water?

The carb was one thing they were wondering about but didn't hear anything to make them think there was a problem. When it's cold I pull up on the choke and hold it there for a second, then start it. Sometimes go up and down with it. I don't do anything with the throttle yet because I don't want to flood it. But today I did get it going, on land (because I have put it in the water 5 times now and it wouldn't start) and without using the throttle it was revving up and down. There was also black/oily fuel mix blowing out the exhaust. Is that a carb thing?