‘97 xp no acceleration

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

BusyDad

Hi everyone, newbie here.
I’ve had lots of work done to my 97 xp (787/800) and it was running great (with a temporary set of carbs that had no accelerator pump) I totally cleaned and rebuilt another set of carbs with the accelerator pump (the ones that were originally on the ski) with a SBT kit (I now know Mikuni would have been best, I thought I was getting those and didn't up that way, so my mechanic said don’t worry and that he uses lots of those)
Anyways, I installed the rebuilt set of carbs, set high speed screws to 0 (incidentally, I tried to turn the h s screws out 1/8 & 1/4 turn and adjusted both low speed screws to 1-3/8 turns out. It starts and idles well and initially runs good but after a very short time it will not accelerate (it bogs down). I am at a loss, the high speed screw didn’t seem to make any difference in or out)
It starts fine & The is idle is good,
My question is…can I take off the h s screw caps and adjust the h s screws out more than the 1/4 ? It seems like it’s not getting
Any gas under demand

could be something else....fuel starvation, or carb air intake gates adjusted properly? I would probably start by eliminating potential fuel problems by installing a gravity feed accessory fuel source directly to the carb. this will bypass the fuel selector and fuel filter both of which can restrict fuel at WOT.

There are many feeds here that talk about only use mikuni kits on the carb rebuild and since your issues only began after you rebuilt the carb that is most likely the issue. But for me installing a accessory fuel source is very quick solution to eliminate that.

Because you changed to the accelerator pump carb, did you install the small plastic jet in the end of the fuel line where it enters the accelerator pump?