The scary side to personal watercraft

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

Cheflen

Was on my speedster today and I witnessed something that I have never seen before. A 94 XP blew up on this guy and burned completely. He told me he fell off of it and got back on and right after he started it it blew up. He said it was hard to start and not running right when it blew up. I do a lot of work on these, I’m not an expert for sure but I know my way around them pretty well. I just can’t fathom how this would happen. I was around the corner when it happened so I didn’t exactly see it go down. He said he didn’t smell any fuel before it exploded. I just don’t know what other precautions I can take to make sure this doesn’t happen. I always do new fuel lines on all skis.AC0DD97A-9E31-40D2-A293-4DD76A28D1DD.png

if it was hard to start, it must have had bad needles or his diaphragm was pressing down on the arm. This allows fuel to drip into the carb throat. If it turned over, it may have poured out into his hull. The vapors could have been ignited by an old leaky spark plug wire. Seadoo didn't make them replaceable. I've seen them arc before at night. Been shocked by them too a few times. Perfect recipe for disaster.

if it was hard to start, it must have had bad needles or his diaphragm was pressing down on the arm. This allows fuel to drip into the carb throat. If it turned over, it may have poured out into his hull. The vapors could have been ignited by an old leaky spark plug wire. Seadoo didn't make them replaceable. I've seen them arc before at night. Been shocked by them too a few times. Perfect recipe for disaster.
See that was the answer I was looking for. I understand how a leaky fuel line can make gas pour out, but I figured there was no way spark could ignite outside of the engine. A faulty spark plug wire could do it