Start/Stop Dead on 2014 GTI 130 SE

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

GearGal

My Start/Stop button doesn't bring power to anything. Just towed back from the dealership. No faults. Dealership had opened a case with BRP tech service. Their generic "conclusion" is potentially bad wiring. I managed to get the case information & am adding relevant text below. I'm new to DIY on my unit but couldn't stomach the $2300 for parts & labor to replace BOTH wiring harnesses...:eek:o_O

1) Only way unit powers on is with the power interface connected at the dealership
2) Battery has a good charge
3) 12.35V at the following locations
a) fuse box RD wire PIN B1 (fuse #8, 30 amp)
b) fuse box RD wire PIN C1
c) fuse box RD wire PIN B2 (fuse #7, 30 amp)
4) 12V to the main relay
5) Voltage present to the L1 pin, the M2 pin, & the M3 pin
6) Does not appear to have 12V to ECM pin with black and violet wire from the fuse box
7) Unit starts and runs great with the interface hooked up
8) Unit does not start jumping the relay
9) Not getting battery voltage at ECM PIN B-H2 while relay is not activated
10) Does not appear to be getting a good ground between the ECM and fuse box pins

I purchased the dealer manual, so I have that handy. While I am an engineer, I am NOT savvy with electronics (go figure). Any hand holding is appreciated greatly! SeaDoo season is short in Ohio & right now is prime riding weather.

You don't need new wiring harnesses. You need to find the bad connections. It is pretty simple to trace the wiring using the wiring diagram and starting at the start/stop switch. It sounds like you're not getting to power to the ECU from your relay. Check the connections at the back of your fuse panel. They tend to corrode at the terminal crimp or slightly behind in the wire itself. Simple and quick to remove the terminal and inspect and resistance check.