Rotax 2-Stroke; bypass oil injection = engine suicide?

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

Riverguy42

Hi, I'm a 50-year powerboat veteran and generally considered competent with inboard/outboard/diesel/gas/2-strokes/4-strokes etc., but I have never seen a Rotax before.

Like many 2-stroke Rotax noobs, I asked myself the question "why should I rely on a possibly failure prone injection pump system, when I can just put oil into the gas tank and be SURE the engine is getting enough oil?"

It took me a little while to understand what I THINK is the answer. Please forgive me if this has already been discussed, I looked but could not find anything.

If I am correct, then bypassing the oil-injection system in a Rotax would eventually destroy the engine.

Here is my assessment, please correct me if I am wrong:
  1. Rotax engines are designed to inhale an OIL/AIR MIXTURE into the crankcase.
  2. This ensures that the rotary valve gets lubricated (because that's where the oil/air mixture gets into the engine).
  3. It also splash-lubes everything in the crankcase with pure oil instead of oil that's diluted with gasoline.
  4. Bypassing the oil injection system and putting oil into the gasoline instead defeats this entire design.
So, with all the discussions here that I've read about people just deciding to bypass and put oil in their gas, I've not heard anyone warn people what will happen if the rotary valve is allowed to (effectively) run dry, without the pure coating of oil (not gas/oil mix) that is intended.

Looking forward to comments, and to learning more about this!

No.

First of off there is no good reason to remove the oil injection on a seadoo as it is the most reliable system on any personal watercraft, they just don't fail.