New To PWC: Beginner Questions

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

JJEdmund

I Rxp.jpgGtx.png

So I'm totally new to owning a PWC. I am buying two from a local guy who buys, rebuilds and resales them. I got what I feel is a decent deal on a 2001 rxp and a 2001 gtx pictured above. $4,000 with a double trailer as well.

The gtx I got for my girl and I'll be using the rx primarily. I live in Myrtle Beach SC and we will mainly use in the Intracoastal Waterway and on local lakes as well. I have some general questions as I'm a total newbie when it comes to PWC.

These are both two stroke so obviously there is a gas oil mixture. I was told by some people to pre mix and the guy rebuilding them said you don't have to pre mix. He didn't elaborate. Is he saying I can just put x amount of oil in and then put the gas in afterwards?

Secondly, he told me he would give me a discount if I bought the batteries myself to put in them as he did state they would both need new batteries and to be cleaned up. Any opinions on good batteries that will be reliable for these? Also, is there a good compound that I could clean these up with? I have a buffer just not sure what would be best to clean these up with?

The rxp has modded jets on it so according to this guy, it will go faster than normal but he said don't let it idle too long or it will drink gas and can be a problem when you go to accelerate. Anyone else have modded jets or larger jets on there PWC and can give any advice?

Last thing and I apologize for being a pest and such a newbie, but I like to do things right. What are the main things I need to do after riding to ensure I get the most life out of them before they break down? Being rebuilt 2001 models, I'm going to have problems at some point but want to do the right maintenance so I can take care of them properly. Any advice and help would be greatly appreciated.