Looking for a little help on 97 XP

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

LSteele

First...I'm brand new to this forum, so if I'm in the wrong place for the questions I have, someone correct me.
Ok - on to the issues: Just bought this 97 XP. Owner had taken it to a shop last year. They replaced the starter, then the magneto (and it looks like a new rectifier/regulator). They got it to crank over, but no spark. They told the owner it probably needed a new MPEM, at which time the owner said no more. Apparently he just gave it to the shop for the work already done. I bought it from the shop.
I expected I'd need to find a good MPEM for it. Now I'm not sure that's what it needs. I just want o do everything I can to diagnose the problem, before I start putting used electronics it. I'm totally new to these DESS systems, so read up what I could.
When I attach the key, I do get 2 beeps. It cranks over fine, but zero spark. So, here's my first question...what next steps should I take in diagnosing? Second question: Can the MPEM be bench tested somehere? I'd like to avoid taking it to a shop again, as long as it's work I can do. Thanks in advance.

PS: forgot to mention...I pulled the MPEM out and it's obviously been changed before, as it has recycler writing on the back identifying what it fits, etc. That could be the issue, but I want to be sure before going that route.

It appears the MPEM is ok by your description.

I would test the ignition coil and the pickup coil in the front engine cover.

You can download the factory service manual, just google seadoomanuals.

It appears the MPEM is ok by your description.

I would test the ignition coil and the pickup coil in the front engine cover.

You can download the factory service manual, just google seadoomanuals.