Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

TrevorM

Hey Seadoo-forums!

I have read some very helpful stuff on this website and have finally decided to join the community!

So first I want to thank everyone who contributes to these forums!

Let's get started: I recently purchase a 2001 Seadoo GTX (951 carbureted). The seadoo currently runs pretty good, but I have noticed the fuel lines are the grey tempos which I just bought fuel line to replace. I also bought a replacement fuel filter and oil filter.

Here's where the trouble begins. First off I am completely new to this, so my question is as follow: 1) Do I need to remove the exhaust to get to the carbs to replace the fuel lines connecting to them? 2) Where is the oil filter located? Also there is a thing on top of my oil tank that looks like an inline filter that has a hose going to it but on the other end no hose is connected??

Thanks everyone for reading any advice and help is greatly appreciated!

Reactions: mjl
No need to pull the pipe.

You need to get carb kits and rebuild the carbs with only genuine Mikuni kits.
It’s just a check valve on the oil tank. Nothing connects to it.

Make sure you are only running APT-TC full synthetic oil.

Thank you sir! I have read other post from you and you provide very useful info! I was very worried about that check valve as I thought it was a dead end filter!

So I would like to clean and rebuild carbs but I am hesistant because I'm completely new to all of this and I've been told you could really mess up carbs if you're not careful. Also the carbs are underneath the big black exhaust big correct? If so how do I get to the carbs without taking the pipe off? I'm also trying to replace the oil filter so I need to get to that and the bleed bolt on the pump which is also underneath the piper?

Sorry for all the question complete newbie here, your help is incredibly appreciated!