Bring a Sportster 4 tec back to life

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

Little Boz

I got a deal I could not pass up.... but would greatly appreciate help as I am new to Jet boats.
I have just gotten a 2003 Sportster 4 tec 150 that was used less than 20 hours looks beutifull. Bad news is it has sat for 6 years and hasn't started in 4 years. it has nearly a full tank of bad gas.
Is there a good way to clean the tank?
The fuel pump fuse keeps blowing so I pulled the fuel pump - Nasty condition. How do I rebuild it? or can I have it sent out to be rebuilt?
Should I pull the injectors?
Other maintenance issues I should address?
Appreciate all the advice I can get!

Last edited:
Super low hour toys are usually not a good thing (unless they are started and run regularly or if they were pickled properly). Sure they look amazing, but long term sitting means bearings and seals (and all sorts of other items) have gone long times without lubrication. Usually not a good thing once you get them fired up and running.

What you're seeing is exactly why I said what I said. You're going to need to go through each system and make sure they are working as they should.

Electrical items should be fine, but you're gonna want to do a full service on the boat (oil, filter, O-ring, plug change), then drain and clean the tank. Check your coolant. Wouldn't hurt to flush and drain as well. Check your pump cone for grease and condition of grease. I'd pull the pumps and spin the shafts listening for any bearing noise or drag.

You're popping fuses cause your fuel pump is drawing too much power when trying to pump. I'm sure its all gummed up. Not sure if they can be rebuilt, but you'll definitely need to fix or replace it. The entire fuel system may be just as bad.