Battery draining even while riding

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated

Garyg99

I have a 2008 gti that recently had new ecu installed took it for first ride of the year and battery drained in like 45 min while riding to point wouldn’t start. After recharging battery noticed that gauge cluster comes on every 15 seconds or so like I just plugged in key and then goes off again and notice it was clicking a relay in front compartment possibly starter relay and there’s a humming from the engine area for a second or 2 like the fuel pump is priming. If I unplug the 2 wire plug from the Dess it stops doing it. Just wondering if it’s possible something is wrong with new ecu or maybe the Dess post? Ski runs and drives fine till battery dies. Thanks for any help in advance these are my first pwc’s so I’m a newb at all this.

If your battery dies while driving you have a charging issue.

The DESS post issue may be related and it may not.

Here is what I would do:

1.. Are your battery terminals tight and free of corrosion?
2.. When running, put a multimeter on the battery. You should get 14v. If you don't, you have a charging problem. That could be a ground problem, stator/rectifier issue.
3.. Are your grounds tight and free if corrosion? There are 3 of them located at the front of the block below where you add oil.

As for the DESS. There is a magnetic reed switch in the post. When you put the key in it activates telling the ecu to light up the guage asssy and prime the fuel pump. If that is happening with no key in the post, the most might be bad.

Why did you replace the original ECU?

Thanks, gives me some things to try. bought a new ecu bc of a different battery problem, was told it would fix it and I think it did but then all this started. I’m just hoping not going to have to buy a wiring harness after dropping 700 on a ecu.

What was the differnt battery problem? Just curious as it all may be related.