96 XP runs bad

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated

Lovehate

Hi,
I have been a auto technician for 45 years but have yet to work on a 2 stroke car.
I have read many posts trying to figure this out. I will give as many details as I can.
Been maintaining my 96 XP for 15 years. I usually can figure things out.
I have done the carbs twice in that time with good results.
I live in Virginia so it only gets used in summer.
Got it out on memorial day to get ready for summer. Ran fine when I put it away last fall.
It started fine, Idled 5 minutes to get past no wake buoys, hit the throttle, it launched as usual, after 30 seconds it dropped like I was on one cylinder. Puttered back to the dock. Pto cylinder was cooler than mag cylinder so I figured plug was bad. Installed new plugs (I keep on hand) , fired right up and seemed to be okay. Idled back out, hit the gas, life was good for about 30 seconds and back to the dock I go. Nosed it up against the dock and throttled up. Sometimes it would tach up and sometimes it just sputtered on one cylinder. Seemed to have spark so I introduced a squirt of carb cleaner to rear carb when it was acting up, did not help.