96 Speedster looking for shop manual and general advice

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello. New here
I just picked up a 96 speedster jet boat that works, but the left engine leaks oil internally. Piston rings? I am a mechanic but I work on turbine powered helicopters so this is all new to me! I have a 97 speedster as a parts boat as well
Also I have not found the shop manual here..just supplements. I would really like the manual

Hi, and welcome to the forum, there is a lot of great info. and great helpful knowledgeable members here.
Go to the link Sea-Doo Manuals at the top of the screen, then the link for the Sea-Doo Boat Manuals, then 1996 Sea-Doo Jet Boat Shop Manuals/Operators Manuals, then, and this is maybe where you went off-track a bit, instead of clinking the attachments, clink the link above the attachements http://www.seadooforum.com/manuals/1996 Shop Manual.pdf or click what I entered above if that works.

Your internal oil leak is most likely because of leaking inner crank seals. The only way to repair is to tear the motor apart and replace the entire crankshaft.

If your oil is blue or green, it is the wrong oil and may have contributed to the seals failing. Some have had luck reducing leaking by draining/flushing the oil system and filling with the correct API-TC rated oil.

If your leak isn't fouling plugs, you can still get many hours of use from it. It will smoke like crazy on initial startup, but will eventually clear up. For long periods of storage, a shut off valve can be installed on the large oil line that feeds the rotary shaft cavity. You just need to remember to open the valve when using the boat.

Thanks very much for the advice and the manual link. I was clicking the PDF that was my issue.