2004 GTX Supercharged ENGINE LIGHT ON

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

Carapeba

So this is my second Seadoo, purchased (97 GTI) 2 months ago and loved so much but did not like the performance aspect. Needed an upgrade, so yesterday purchased a 2004 GTX Supercharged. Today took it to the lake for the first time. What a difference so much more power and speed, on the speedometer 65mph. AWESOME!!! Performance totally met the expectation.

The only problem is that after about 5 minutes a long beeb and engine light on and a display message: "Check Engine". Also the word MAINT appeared on the display.

I have the coolant level is on max, oil is good too. When I was doing gthe 65mph the RPM gauge was at 8,000 RPM. Is this normal?

As I am a total newbie on Sea-doo's I would appreciate any advice.

Thanks a lot!

What code are you showing? You should be able to plug the lanyard in and hit the set button 5 times to display your code.

If it doesn't show the code you need to have a tech at the dealer scan it to pull the code. Once we know the code we can go from there. By the way, is this the 185hp or the 215hp?

Thanks for all the help. it is a 185hp. In your opinion the fact that does not show the code is potentially a bad sign?

I don't have that much experience with the earlier 4tecs such as the 185hp so I can't say for sure. It may even be a different procedure to get it to show the code. Hoping someone else will chime in that has more experience with those skis.

You have to press the "SET" button 5 times while the alarm is going (not after or before). Try that.

You have to press the "SET" button 5 times while the alarm is going (not after or before). Try that.