2002 GTX Won't Go Over 3,900 RPM's In Water

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated

Broosedamoose67

Premium Member
Premium Member
I'm sorry if this has been posted but I did do a search and couldn't find my specific issue. I'm new to having a PWC and don't know much about them. I bought a really clean 2002 GTX with 164 hours. First and second times I took it out it ran fine. It had a slight vibration and I knew it needed a new wear ring so I brought it to someone. They not only replaced the wear ring but also replaced the pump because he said it had gotten water in it and the bearings were no good. Once I got it back, I took it out and it will not go over 3,900 RPM's. I called him back and he said what he did has nothing to do with how the engine runs. Now if it's on the trailer it idles fine and rev's up to over 6,000 RPM's! It only bogs while in the water! I've tried new plugs but that didn't help. I checked the Raves and they are all fine. Can anyone give me some ideas to try please?

Sorry to hear you are having problems. I think he should have offered to take a look at it for you. What modle ski do you have? (there are 3) How fast was it going before you brought it in for repair? It isn't simply going to change because you replaced the wear ring. It should be faster and more powerful.

It's easy to get that thrust washer on crossed up on the fit if one is not diligent. I pay special attention to that, never trust it. :) You can take a flashlight and get under the ski and look into the impeller and determine if the wear ring and impeller fit is too tight but any interference with that should get shaved off pretty quick when the engine is started. Remove the spark plugs and turn the engine over by hand. It should turn smoothly and easily. If something is dragging or it is tight, I'd look hard at the jet pump.