2001 SEADOO ISLANDIA 240 MERC ENGINE OE390883 Ser# S721P52

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

Joe2tek

Good Morning All

I have owned this boat for the past few years. Ever since I purchased this boat, I have had problems with it. I have several years of Engine rebuilding experience across a huge array of engines.

To keep it short and to the point here is the issue I am having.

To start, it has a new engine, so all of the cylinders have 135 - 150 lbs of compression. It had this problem before the engine change as well, so I don't believe its mechanical.

When we initially start the boat, it runs like a raped ape. Plenty of power and will run for hours. When I shut the engine down to dock, fuel, etc, when I try to re-start the engine, it cranks and wont start. Let it sit for several minutes to an hour, turn the key, and it starts.

I noticed if I manually hold open the throttle plate, she will start up as well. I have changed the Port Side Temp sensor, put some grease on it and it still does the same thing. It is the only issue I have had. I have had all the injectors and reed vales changed and rebuilt. Vapor canister etc. I have since noticed that when I started the engine yesterday, it seemed to rev up very high without idling.

Could this be the TPS? It is really driving me crazy. Maybe you can explain the correct steps to take to eliminate this problem, I have pretty much checked everything but hesitate to change TPS due to the extreme cost of it.

Thanks in advance for any help you can offer.

Joe

Good Morning All

I have owned this boat for the past few years. Ever since I purchased this boat, I have had problems with it. I have several years of Engine rebuilding experience across a huge array of engines.