2001 challenger 1800 wouldn’t start

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.
Ok, I’ll preface this by saying that I’m brand new to the boat thing.

I just bought a 2001 challenger 1800 with 240 Merc m2.

The guy we bought it from took us for a test run and it was great.

Took it straight to another lake, launched it fine. Then, shut her down for a bit.

Wouldn’t start back up.

Finally got it going again, then the lanyard just straight up fell off as we were headed back to the boat ramp.

So, we towed it in. And the previous owner said we probably would need to change the safety switch soon.

Well, I changed the spark plugs the next day because previous owner said he never did in his 7 years of owning the boat.

I thought it was the safety switch or the lanyard but from what I read, 2001 Challenger 1800’s with Merc m2 240hp don’t have dess so probably not that?

Just wondering what my next steps should be...I was planning on ordering a new lanyard to replace the original then get a new post and see if that did it...but now that seems wrong?

Help please! Any other general rules of regular maintenance would be helpful for this newbie too...because you don’t change this oil???

Guess I need to get it back in the water to test or try to start it in the driveway??

I appreciate the help in advance because I have no clue what I’m doing!!

That engine's lanyard is just a simple kill switch. Get a new one that will stay on the post, and it should be fine. The DESS system is just on the PWC and newer Rotax powered boats.

No... you don't change the oil. It's a big 2-stroke. It burns oil. SO... DO NOT run out of oil while running around.

Awesome, thank you. And my wife is terrified to try and start it out of the water to see if what we did worked. Any chance of doing damage to the boat?