1998 xp limited, HELPP!!!

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

trixsta587

I have a 1998 xp limited and i just recently bought it. It was already broken when i bought it, and i want to fix it. The guy i bought it from said he was riding it one day and it just stalled all of a sudden. He said he tried starting it until the battery went dead. The engine is not seized because it turns over, and i don't think it is blown. help me please!:ack:

well i'm no expert on these engines but I know a little about engines in general, and if this happened on a car I would start by checking compression and spark. Good luck

XP

If you get the two beeps an normal, and your sure you have spark to the plugs, then I would start looking towards a fuel problem.

Does your ski have the original grey fuel lines on it still? If so that could be a part of your problem. Those grey line are notorious for getting gummed up over the years and clog the carbs. I replaced mine with regular 1/4 inch black fuel hose.

I would take a teaspoon full of mixed fuel and pour it in the spark plug holes, put your plugs back in and wires on, and see if it starts. If it does, i would take the carbs down and go thru them....

Good luck

yea.... premix in the holes and fire....it sounds like nothing major...just stalled.... i would rbuild the carbs and clean all filters... change o-ring in the front cup too... new fuel lines and selector valve... then pre mix in the carbs she'll fire right up!!!
all you need to run a motor is AIR, FIRE, and FUEL.... remember this and you'll get it fired.... and you know you already have air, and fire...where is the fuel???