1995 Speedster new bilge pump install - discharge hole

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

ottawaguy

Hi. Newbie here so any help would be greatly appreciated. Just bought a 95 Speedster and the two times I had it out it was taking on water. Found a blown fuse for the bilge pump. Replaced fuse and bilge pump turned on when switch was off (so I assume faulty solenoid). I plan to replace bilge pump with automatic and wire directly to battery with switch. Since I am taking on water I would like to move discharge hole higher (as shown in my image). Why did Seadoo place the discharge hole so low? I understand head height and head pressure but why did they not go a bit higher? Should I?? Thanks.
bilge question.jpg

I have a 97 sportster and never take on water, if you are you probably have a leak. I believe there is a valve at the discharge that prevents backflow.

Your pump may be ok. The bilge pump will automatically kick on for 20-30 seconds when you first add power, like installing a new battery or replacing a fuse. All of my Challenger boats do it.

There is no valve on the discharge. The hose should be routed with a loop that is above the water line and prevents it from flowing into the bilge

Your pump may be ok. The bilge pump will automatically kick on for 20-30 seconds when you first add power, like installing a new battery or replacing a fuse. All of my Challenger boats do it.

There is no valve on the discharge. The hose should be routed with a loop that is above the water line and prevents it from flowing into the bilge

Hi and thanks for the reply. Yes, I did clean up the pump and it is okay. Although not an automatic type. I do need to check to see if the line is looped about the water line. Know of any other typical bad spots for water entry on these boats?