Water leaking between motor mount and lower unit

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

Cdwinkler

Noticed water shooting out between where the motor mounts to the lower jet drive inside the hull. Boat wouldn’t go over 15mph and 4K rpms. Any ideas?

It’s a 2000 seadoo challenger 2000. Last year it ran fine all year and at the end of the season it started cutting out at high speeds. I cleaned out the high pressure pump and housing and took the boat out. That’s when I noticed water coming inside between where the motor mounts and the jet drive inside the motor compartment. ‍♂️ I did have water hooked up before the motor was started. Would that have caused it?

I'm new to the boat world but what I've gathered about having water on without turning the engine on first is that water could go into the engine without the exhaust pushing it out.. Maybe take the spark plugs out and roll it over and see if any water comes out?

My first thought would be that the boat has been run too long outside of the water and burned up the carbon seal/carrier bearing. (I’m not sure wether that boat uses a carbon seal or the carrier bearing set up.) Even when running on the hose, they shouldn’t be run for more than a minute or two. The hose provides cooling water for the motor, but not for that carbon seal, and they burn up fairly quickly.

This would be a Mercury sportjet, perhaps? Without actually crawling down there and having a look while the engine is running in the water, I'd suspect the power head mounting gasket. If so, the power head will need to be unbolted and lifted off to replace the gasket or address the cause.

So have a look closer before jumping the gun.

The 4K RPM issue might not be related but tread carefully if/when the motor isn't making power like it should, might just be a clogged injector or two but a dead cylinder can result in severe damage.