RESTO The budget build-95 SP

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

Cheflen

I haven't seen any recent resto builds, so I decided I should post my resto of a 95 sp.
Considering I am a college student, the budget is pretty low, so I am trying to do a proper build while keeping costs down as much as possible. I really wanted an xp, but I got a good deal on this sp, so I couldn't pass it up.
I found this double trailer on craigslist for 320$, considering I couldn't find any double trailer near me under 500$, I took it.
It had a 90 Yamaha wave runner 3 and an 89 seadoo sp on it.
IMG_1407.JPGIMG_1408.JPGI sold the Yamaha for 300 and then sold the sp for 80, so I already made 60 on this purchase.
I started restoring the trailer, painted it, put new hubs on, new bunks, new lights and wiring.IMG_1631.JPGIMG_1633.JPGi have seen this 95 sp listed for 400 for a while, but I was never interested. Eventually I gave in and decided to text the guy.
I drove out there and the motor spun easily, but has clearly been sitting for a while. He just wanted to get rid of it so he took 100$ for it.IMG_1651.JPGIMG_1652.JPG(only allowed to post 10 photos apparently) I got it home and started tearing it apart. The crankcase was filled with oil, which wasn't the worst thing because it kept all of the internals from rusting.
There will be a lot of posts following up what I have done to it and what I will be doing, I need to gather the rest of my photos for the rest of the posts. More to come!
This is hopefully going to help beginners on what to do with a low budget, a 95 sp is a great starter for someone wanting to learn to rebuild everything, it's a very simple machine.

Attachments

• IMG_1407.JPG
    IMG_1407.JPG
    3.2 MB · Views: 20
  • IMG_1408.JPG
    IMG_1408.JPG
    3.2 MB · Views: 20
  • IMG_1631.JPG
    IMG_1631.JPG
    4 MB · Views: 19
  • IMG_1633.JPG
    IMG_1633.JPG
    3.8 MB · Views: 19