SeaDoo Speedster Cutting Out at 2000RPM

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

GPowrie

I bought a 96 SeaDoo Speedster for the kids to play with this summer. It has been running great until yesterday. The left engine (717) starts and idles fine but when you accelerate to 2000 RPM the engine quits. It will immediately start back up but quits again at 2000 RPM. Right engine works fine. Changed plugs and fuel filters. No change. Does anyone have any experience with this problem?
Thanks!!!!!

I have no personal experience with these types of vessels...but your description is saying and the engine is acting like it hits a RevLimit and quits. That would/could possibly indicate a potential "electric" problem in my brain....just spit-balling on this one though !?

First try changing the spark plugs.

If that doesn't work rebuild the carbs with only Genuine Mikuni parts.

Changed the plugs and fuel filters. No change. I was wondering if there is an electrical item that could be causing this. Only the left engine at 2000 RPM. Worked great until Saturday. Grounds, sensors?

Changed the plugs and fuel filters. No change. I was wondering if there is an electrical item that could be causing this. Only the left engine at 2000 RPM. Worked great until Saturday. Grounds, sensors?
Doesn't sputter or surge, just flat quits.

When you say you changed the fuel filters, what did you replace? Just the little element in the cup, or the whole assembly? Is the o ring in place?

So there are multiple pieces to you puzzle. You have on/res/off fuel selectors, water separators then small filters in the carbs abt it sounds like someone added another filter inline, which there was no need for.