SBT Break In Oil - TOO MUCH???

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated

mejim707

So, I did as the SBT tech said. I filled my oil reservoir with my XPS oil then as he said I dumped the break in oil in. I have never done this before so I like an idiot I took him literal and didn't read the bottle.........

So, I did just as he said, I filled the oil tank and then poured the entire 32 oz container of SBT break in oil into the oil tank.

Now, I have no clue if this is ok after just for the heck of it I went out and read the container just now. My entire oil is mixed fully with break in oil...

Will this cause problems? Is there any harm running this much break in oil? Will it still lubricate correctly and just go away over time?

Or do I need to drain the oil system and fill it with new oil?

I knew I'd mess up something in this process.

Last edited:
I’ve drained the entire system. I need new break in oil. Can I just use my XPS E-Tec 2T at 50:1?

I have to get the XPS oil tomorrow

Use the oil you just drained out just put the right amount for the proper mixture you want to achieve. I don't use break-in oil, just the injection oil and make a pre-mix. One tank only and just add fuel on top when it gets low.

Use the oil you just drained out just put the right amount for the proper mixture you want to achieve. I don't use break-in oil, just the injection oil and make a pre-mix. One tank only and just add fuel on top when it gets low.

Good point about the oil I drained. If the SBT stuff is just trash 2 cycle then using the oil I drained should be even better than what they sent me.

I only ran it with this mix for about 40 minutes in total, maybe less. Just at the dock. At idle, then off. Then on at varying 1500 - 2200 RPM for a minute or two then off. Just on and off and such. Nothing more.