Question Newb

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

baum

This looks like a very helpful forum!

So the opportunity has risen to purchase a 96 challenger with a 110hp motor for $1500 with trailer. The seller says it starts and runs. But not real great. He had the motor rebuilt 3 to 4 years ago. He said he hasnt really used it in 2 years. He said when he winterized it he just let all the water out, and put stable in it. And covered it.

Is it ok to start them up dry for a few seconds to test it or how should i do that (since lakes are still frozen here)? What else should i look for on this model?

Is this a good buy? If it starts and runs besides a tune up what else sould i look at? I am new to the boating world. But I know people with small engine backgrounds.

Thanks for any help.

Is it ok to start them up dry for a few seconds to test it or how should i do that (since lakes are still frozen here)? What else should i look for on this model?

Is this a good buy? If it starts and runs besides a tune up what else sould i look at? I am new to the boating world. But I know people with small engine backgrounds.

Thanks for any help.

The first thing you want to do is a compression test
Then you can start it and if you are only going to "pop it off" OK but if you are going to run it nore than about 8 seconds then get the guarden hose out
Do not trust just poping it off , I biught a jet ski a few years back that would start right up but it turned out that it had 1 shot piston and I did not know how it was suposed to sound like so it sounded good to me .