Crank bearing - Drive pin

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

NickCawks

Hello everyone Nick here, This is my first post, but in the last 3 months I've been lurking around the forums pretty hard. I'm currently working on a semi restoration project of a 1995 XP720. This is my first PWC, but I'm a experienced mechanic. It's been going pretty smoothly, and pretty much everything I have gotten stuck on I have found on a post here.

However this time I'm kind of stuck.*DISCLAIMER* I have extensively searched through the forums as well as trying to use google and bing.

Anyway, a couple days ago I cracked the crank case to inspect what kind of shape the crank was in. I had very low expectations as everything else on the ski has been in rough condition, but this was some of the better news I have come across on it. The case and crank look great and with a little bit of cleaning all the bearings spin free and smooth.

However upon seating the crank back in the bottom half of the crank case I noticed this.
20170929_213146.jpg
Now I know what they are and what the purpose of them is, but I'm not sure what to do about it. I have tried really hard to find a part number for a replacement or a post where someone has had the same issue. The only thing I have come across is a post on a Yamaha forum where the person was told to put some gasket maker on the outside of the bearing right before re-sealing the case, but I could not confirm this was a method people used with their Seadoo's.

So the question(s) are:
Does anyone know a place where I can buy a new drive pin / know of a part number associated with them?
IF NOT
Is this gasket maker technique a good substitute?

To me it sounds a little janky and not the best idea, BUT if its a tested and true ghetto fix than i'm on board. I'm really not trying to have to go through the hassle of pulling the bearing off and pressing a new one on.