Bogs at full throttle.

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

Norcorider44

Hello my friends i am very new to this so bare with me. I just got a 1995 xp 720 and it starts great and takes off like a rocket but at full throttle it bogs and i have to let off the throttle to pick up speed again. Could this be a carb issue. All the gas lines have already been changed from the gray lines they used. If the carbs didnt get cleaned after the lines get changed could the carbs still be clogged. Any help would be appreciated.

Yes, you are starving for fuel and will ruin your engine if you keep running it that way.
Carbs need to be rebuilt correctly with only Genuine Mikuni parts, fuel strainer and selector need to be checked for air leaks or just replaced.

You can bypass it for testing.
I like having Reserve for emergencies and the ability to turn the fuel off when not in use.

Can i delete the fuel selector. Would that cause me problems?

You could bypass it, and it won’t cause problems until you run out of gas... Having that reserve comes in really handy, especially with how often the fuel gauges fail in these things! The selectors are inexpensive, so I’d just replace it.

Ok perfect. I will replace it with oem parts and i will keep you posted. Any other info on these machines would be great. Thank you all for the help. Great community here

THey are really pretty simple. Clean fuel system, correct API-TC oil and they run really well.

I had another quastion about the vts. Mine does not seem to be working. Is this common on these machines and how important is the vts.

It's very common. It isn't really necessary but nice to have working.
If it isn't working then unplug all connectors to it because it can fry your MPEM.

Im sorry im so new i wouldnt know where to look to unplug any connections to it. Is this something i can get to easy? Thanks again for any help