'97 Sportster Loss of Power

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

Kreg

I'm new to the Boating scene and I'm already wondering why I got in it. I bought a 1997 Sea Doo Sportster that was supposed to be in good running condition. I took it out the first time and I thought it seemed a little sluggish when I advanced the throttle. When I pushed it over half throttle the rpms came up, but no speed/thrust. Sorry, there is no tac on it. After reading some of these forums, I pulled the pump assy and found that the impeller was nicked up pretty good, so I ordered a new impeller and wear ring. With the help of one of these threads, I replaced the impeller and wear ring, and went back to the lake only to experience the same problem. When I advance the throttle over halfway, the engine revs very loudly and the back end of the boat kind of sucks down as if trying to get traction, but no speed. I think I understand what you mean when you say "plane" and my boat doesn't want to do that. It won't really level out and glide. It seems like the rear end is always dragging almost like it can't get out of first gear. The clearance on the wear ring is very tight, so I'm wondering if I s/b looking elsewhere. Any suggestions?

max clearance from impeller to wearring is .04". or could be carbon seal leak.
search "cavitation" in the forums.....you should find your solutions.

max clearance from impeller to wearring is .04". or could be carbon seal leak.
search "cavitation" in the forums.....you should find your solutions.
Thx for the reply. I'm pretty sure my clearance is minimal. I have no water in the hull, but you think it could be carbon seal anyway? I'm beginning to wonder if the splines on the driveshaft or pto could be bad.

I was going to tell you about the splines, but if you are getting some thrust and the lack of thrust only happens when you load up the throttle, it has to be cavitation.