2003 GTI LE RFI Electrical

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi all,
I am new to the Sea doo world and just picked up a 2003 GTI LE RFI off a guy that isn’t running. It has zero power going to the dash or D.E.S.S. The previous owner told me the MPEM was gone to I ordered a used(tested) one up from eBay and installed it yesterday along with brand new battery but still same thing.
I’m not into this thing for much money yet but I’m a little scared to take it to a dealer for something like electronics because we know how time consuming it can be. Just wondering if anyone here has had similar issues and some things I could check first before diving in too deep.

Thanks!

Usually dealers won't touch an old Sea-Doo. So, unless you know someone, you are going solo. I would check the connectors in the front (nose). I believe there are two Main ones up there behind the panel. Then check the connectors behind the dash area. There are four or five. Make sure they are connected correctly IAW the manual. If not, no power. If still a no go. Then get out your voltmeter and start chasing wires for power. The shop manual has a good electrical chart for troubleshooting. Good luck and keep us posted.

No, I don't think so. It gets power as soon as the DESS is plugged in not after the engine is started. Check the connectors up front. Unplug them and check for corrosion or a broken pin. Let me check the electrical flowchart. Be right back.

It gets power from both sides of the Starter Solenoid. Before and after start. A red wire (small gauge) from the starter solenoid goes to the "Cut-Off relay" to tell the Ski there is power. Check that fuse or relay. It may be bad or blown.

I have 12.8v on the “battery side of the starter selenoid. Nothing on the starter side, nothing coming from the plug on the bottom of the selenoid. The both fuses are good.