2002 Utopia 205 cavitation - Do I have correct wear ring / Impeller?

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

whoami

Newbie here, loving the forum, thank you.

Just got a new to me Utopia 205, ran fine on sea trial, but with my family onboard I am getting cavitation and it seems to be getting worse. I pulled the rear end, oil was like new and to my surprise a brand new wear ring and impeller. The impeller number seems stock 47-877325 T but the wear ring I am struggling with... I have googled the number and nothing comes up as an exact match. The number on it is 856814C-1. Is that correct? Why don't I see it anywhere?

If this is good, then I am guessing my cavitation is coming from the stator, which does have some damaged vanes. My intake grate is also slightly damaged, so I wonder if that could also cause it? Parts for these things seem expensive AND hard to find!

I am also concerned that the seller is covering something up, since he told me he has not done a new impeller/wear ring...... what else could be wrong? bent shaft?

Finally does this boat have a carbon ring? I'm going to upgrade my membership, so I have access to manuals and hope this might help me too.

I'm in NH, if anyone has any parts nearby, please let me know :)

Thanks in advance

SO I upgraded and got the manuals, but i'm still kind of at a loss.

I'll describe my problem, just in case it's not cavitation.

Basically when I give the boat more than say 40% throttle, it vibrates/judders pretty aggressively and I have to let off. Does not matter if I gun it, or roll up to 40% throttle, same thing. As I said in previous post, seems to be getting worse. I was able to get up and plane two weekends ago, now its almost impossible to even plane (I'm not using the boat anymore until I fix it)

Wear ring and Impeller look like new.