1998 Challenger 1800 bad starboard side cavitation and other smaller issues

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

PaulB84

Hi all. Long time lurker, first post. Got a 1998 Challenger 1800. Used to ride an HX and XP as a kid, and still have both. Not a total noob, just enough information to be a hazard lol. I'm pretty decent with two strokes in general and rotax specifically, but don't know much about the pump/plate/shaft/impeller/intake side of things.

Largest issue on the boat I can find: simply put starboard side has more "rattle" going on than I'd like to hear. To be clear I don't mean internal engine noise, I mean pump/shaft/nozzle area. Noticeably louder and more metallic than port side. Also, taking off slowly, everything runs great and she absolutely zips. But from a standstill fast start starboard side cavitates badly and you need to lower RPM to keep from doing something dumb. Ditto on sharp turns to port, starboard pump looses it's grip.

Impellers appear good by visual inspection. Weed guards seem to be functional and don't rattle or play excessively. On the PORT side (non issue side) the blue plastic around the impeller shaft is broken off/missing above the seal.

I'll try and gloss over the myriad of other small issues any used boat has. Both motors start, run and drive well enough for now. Starboard side had a new starter, it appears to be cheap cause it simply doesn't turn over like the port side. Starboard side also runs a few hundred lower than port, you can compensate with throttle position but in N the boat turns in a circle. I'm hoping a simple throttle cable adjustment can solve that one. Speaking of which, with wheel Max to port, the port side motor revs a few hundred RPM. I've followed the steering and throttle cables as far as I can, haven't found anything damning. It happens reliably, every time, whether in F N R. Thanks in advance guys and gals.