1997 Challenger 1800 running away

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

Jrf0007

I am having a problem with one of the twin 787 engines. I have been testing it on the trailer. When I start the port engine it will idle at about 3000 rpm in neutral but bogs if I try to give it more while in neutral. When I put it in forward and give it a little gas it will over rev to over 7000 rpm, will not back off and I need to pull the key to shut it down. It reacts like it is stuck at WOT. The carbs were recently rebuilt and pop-off pressures were within range. I am at a loss to figure it out. Any idea what the cause is or how to fix it? I have been chasing carb issues with this sport boat for several years and there always seems to be something amiss.

There is a neutral safety switch so it is normal to not be able to rev them up in neutral.

If you are getting a runaway it is typically an air leak and if you have done the carbs it is usually the carb base gaskets.

Is there a way to test the base gasket seals without removing the carbs? Also is there an in-boat diagnostic procedure for leak testing? I suspect it is sucking air somewhere causing it to run extra-lean. My brother suggested spraying some starter fluid judiciously in key areas while it is running and monitoring for increased revs. Wondering if that works and if it is safe?

Is there a way to test the base gasket seals without removing the carbs? Also is there an in-boat diagnostic procedure for leak testing? I suspect it is sucking air somewhere causing it to run extra-lean. My brother suggested spraying some starter fluid judiciously in key areas while it is running and monitoring for increased revs. Wondering if that works and if it is safe?