Yamaha Jet Boat Build

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

dgoodwin10

Posted from the Yamaha Jet Boaters Forum (for your viewing pleasure)

I am what most would consider a hobbyist mechanic/ fabricator having dabbled in a little bit of everything. I’ve bought, fixed and sold 13+ PWCs over the last few years, most of which being Seadoos (am I allowed to use that word here?) I’m also an Auburn student and will be graduating in a few short weeks as I write this, so all work was done while I was at home on work rotations with a local contractor. Rewind to December of 2014- I was needing a single trailer for a Seadoo I was working on and found a smoking deal on a ’99 GP 1200 with a trailer, so me being a sucker for a good deal bought it all. While I was at the guys house, I noticed a jet boat off in the woods, a ’98 Exciter SE- the GP1200 I was buying was the parts ski he’d planned to use to fix the boat, but had lost interest in it. Here it was the first time I saw it:

It was complete and in good shape, minus missing the motor. The price for the boat and trailer? $300. Needless to say, I told him I’d be back. Having never laid eyes on one, I found this forum and discovered the following these boats still have. The guy was close to Auburn, so I came back in January to grab the boat since he was cool enough to hold onto it. After changing a wheel bearing on the trailer in order to leave the guy’s house, it followed me home in January of 2015. The boat had to be put into storage for several months until I had time to work on it.