Winterize 2 stroke Speedster help

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

AnviL Man

Hey everyone, I've got a pretty basic question here. What are the list of steps to winterize my boat, engine and body? This will be my first winter with a boat and I want to treat it correctly so it continues to treat me good :)

I have come across several posts about winterization but they are slightly differing from one another and some do not specify if the method is for 2 strokes which mine is a 2 stroke boat.

My boat is a 2003 Sea Doo Speedster Bombardier 240 EFI. It's a 2 stroke and right not has an almost full 2 stroke oil reservoir and a 3/4 full tank of gas. I'd love a step by step tutorial or if anyone can point me to a video to watch. Thank you in advance. The more detailed the better as I am still learning the boat.

The boat will likely be stored outside since it won't fit in my garage.

Last edited by a moderator:
You would follow the winterizing procedure for a mercury sportjet engine, completely different animal from these jet skis and more like an outboard engine.

There's an important distinction, I can understand why it's confusing! :)

Cover it with a good tarp. Tied down / to it, well. The sun and weather will do evil things to it.

The boat will likely be stored outside since it won't fit in my garage.
Last edited by AnviL Man; Yesterday at 09:58 PM.

I need to winterize the engine and whatever needs to be done on the body as well. It's a 2 stroke boat.

Am I correct this is the 240EFI Sportjet by Mercury engine? All of the cooling water will run out of the engine so there's no danger of freeze damage. But you should peridically and especially for winter, perform some preventive maintenance.