VTS Housing

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

Sepool

Planning to do some spring upgrades to my 96 SPX and wondering if anyone has repaired/replaced VTS Housing. If what is inside the box on the back of the VTS Housing is bad, can it be repaired. Looks like it is a sealed unit with no access. Is there anyone with experience repairing this unit?

I have no experience in repairing. I would like to find a way to un-pot the pottig and try to fix them as there are so many that have been thrown away. Theres the ‘trim-fix’ i dont have any experience with that though. I have found that if u keep a good vts boot on them and put silicone around the edges of unit where the potting is that they will last for quite some time.

If your motor is good you can try a guy that sells a kit called "Trim Fix".

They aren't worth taking apart and repairing. I just buy guaranteed used ones from @Minnetonka4me at WestSide Powersports.

I've used two generic relays to control the motor on my SPX. This requires quite a bit of wiring wizardry and trial/error, but if you want more details, I can explain how I did it. You need a basic knowledge of how a relay works and a test light. I housed this in the grey box next to the mpem. Worked well, just had to look behind me to judge where the trim was. Now that I think about it, I COULD have left the trim sensor hooked up. But being young and dumb, I just cut all the wires to the whole unit and ran two wires only to the motor.
Easy way though is to just get one from Westside Powersports ;)

I appreciate it guys! Yeah I've never seen one of those kits work real well. I test and also add some waterproofing before they are shipped. Pm me if you would like to go the replacement route.