Spark hull cracks again.

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

pedrop

Hi this is Pedrop, from Mallorca in the Spanish Mediterranean.

Got a Spark new in Winter, has maybe 15 hours only.
When it filled up with water last week we found a really big crack in the hull. Never hit anything except water, is always trailored but loaded carefully, never driven onto the trailo, never beached.
We have only 1 Seadoo dealer on the island who, of course, says it hit something. It def. did not.

They have been putting me off for over a week now, so I have to get a lawyer.

Anyone else experienced this sort of damage? The Spark is a cheap ski, and you can see that Seadoo have saved on material wherever they could. Is it possible that the hulls are not as thick as the normal models and jumping waves cracks them?
I have been jetskiing for over 20 years, had all the makes, and I have never ever experienced damage like this.

Does anyone think the Spark may have an inherent problem?

The Spark is a plastic hull. Many things affect plastic. Temperature, rollers instead of bunks, hitting water hard, ect ect,

I have seen them get repaired with plastic welding..

Platic hull cracks

The Spark is a plastic hull. Many things affect plastic. Temperature, rollers instead of bunks, hitting water hard, ect ect,

I have seen them get repaired with plastic welding..

Thought all skis had plastic hulls, but in 20 years of intensive use of Yama, Kawa and Seadoo I have never managed to crack or damage one on the water. Don't really see the point of a high-hp jetski if it can't hit water hard! And the trailor has rollers.
Never really heard of the problem before, I believe it is inherent to the Spark, probably for a design or material reason.