Seadoo Utopia 205 SE RPM Issue

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi all,

I am new to the Seadoo family and forum. I have recently purchased a 2006 Seadoo Utopia 205 SE, it has twin rotax engines at 310HP. The problem I am trying to solve has to do with my throttle. On the lake when I am near full throttle (around 40-45mph), my Seadoo's right engine RPMs decrease by about 1500-2000 while the left engine maintains a constant RPM. It feels as if it "slips" then catches again about 30 seconds later when it re-increases RPM. Everything on the boat seems to work fine, I am very curious as to what this could be, maybe a Camshaft Sensor or something?

Any feedback anybody could provide me would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!

Hey @Seadoo_Utopia_Guy

Welcome to the family! I am fairly new myself. Got my boat 2yrs ago, but it needed to be repaired for 11 months. Just got it back last week and I am taking it back for another round of lengthy repairs early this morning. Having a degree in engineering, been very fascinated with boats and doing as much as I can to learn about my boat, and other boats, as best as I can. I don't actually have your boat or too familiar with it, to be honest, but hopefully someone else can jump in and help you and I both.

Just to cover the basics, do you know the service history of the boat? To start, I would definitely check spark plugs. I typically replace mine every year, my plan at least, as they get fairly worn out after a season. And for the cost, they're pretty inexpensive and both quick and easy to replace. I would also go through and check all your fluids, make sure you have enough oil and that it looks appropriate.