Question regarding the temp trick to increase pressure on Carbon Seal

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

Dadasaurus

Hi all, Tomorrow we will be taking the boat (96 Speedster) out for our one and only ride this year. We just purchased it, and when we test drove it there was some low speed cavitation. Basically after slowly pulling away from the launch when you first give it throttle you hear the cavitation sound and the RPM's go up but the speed does not increase that much and the bow stays up high. Then after about 10 seconds of giving it more throttle all of a sudden the cavitation noise goes away, the bow drops and the boat takes off like a bullet. I've taken a look at the impellers and wear rings through the water inlet, and they seem to look okay to me (but I am very new to this). I was hoping to get good pics and post later to get others opinions. Also, the wear rings were replaced by previous owner a couple years ago, and the impellers were serviced at the same time (though I know it's what they have been through that's important, not time). Anyways, after reading many posts on the forum it seemed like I might have worn out Carbon Rings. When I grab the Ring's/Boot's I can easily move them around. I am hoping to change the Carbon Rings this Fall and get a better look at the wear rings and impellers then and do what's needed to them as well. Yeah, I've been doing a lot of reading on here and the Shop Manual. This is all completely new to me, but I love to work, have no problem getting my hands dirty, and I really want to learn.