Please HELP! -- 98 seadoo gtx ltd motor rebuild

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

Double07

Hello everyone.
Frustrated newbie here.
I recently purchased a 98 gtx limited, took it out to the lake first time, and it ran ok at low speed but died at high speed after a few mins. I took it to the shop for a tune-up, and went back days later, but it happened again. I found out about the gray hose issue, so I pulled the carb, replaced all gaskets and valves, but FORGOT to clean the jets. The carb wasnt too dirty (probably been cleaned before). Third time out, the same thing happened again, only this time it wouldnt start back up after several attempts. Frustrated, I took it home, pulled the rave valves, and noticed that the valve surface on the side facing the cylinder looked like it was melted a little bit on the PTO side. I did a compression test and found out that the MAG cylinder is at 90psi while the PTO cylinder is at 50psi. I guess I am in trouble now. I am looking at rebuilding the motor myself to save some money.
so here are the questions.

1. How easy/hard is it to rebuild the 947 motor?
2. www.seadoo-parts.com have a top-end and crank rebuild kit for under $500. Are there other parts that I would need?
3. for the top end kit, there are different options for piston oversize how do I know what option to go with?
4. Are there any special tools that I would need to do this.

Sorry for too many questions. I just want to get a better assesment of what I am up against before diving in. I know there are lots of smart people on this forum, and I hope you can come to my rescue.

ebay...

hey double...thats a great price, only problem, and I believe, from what I remember, is the "oem" crank, the pin, that the rod surrounds, that connects the 2-journals, on each, is welded, so not only buying the kit, but need to have it ground/pushed out, then new ones installed, welded....