Piston scoring

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

Degand22

Hello guys I'm new to the waverunner world. Just got a 96 GTX 787 an was wondering why my pistons look like this. It still ran great an both cylinders had 150psi compression. Lack of oil or heat? Thanks for any input.

Attachments

• 15688937555251214770352027175436.jpg
    15688937555251214770352027175436.jpg
    3.2 MB · Views: 107
  • 15688938559898507231217056541590.jpg
    15688938559898507231217056541590.jpg
    3.4 MB · Views: 111
If compression was good then lack of good oil, water ingestion and just wearing out. I would guess first two.

Yes, typically it's from water in the intake down the carbs when people flip them over.

The oil pumps don't go out and if it did it would have most likely seized solid.

What color is the oil you are using?

By the scuffing and discoloration is sure looks like they are just worn out and the large piston to cylinder wall clearance is causing the oil film to be lost. I would have the pistons and cylinders professionally measured for clearance and see if you are out of spec.

The oil pumps don't go out and if it did it would have most likely seized solid.

What color is the oil you are using?

By the scuffing and discoloration is sure looks like they are just worn out and the large piston to cylinder wall clearance is causing the oil film to be lost. I would have the pistons and cylinders professionally measured for clearance and see if you are out of spec.
The color of the oil is red. An I just got it last Sunday. Rode it for a hour on the lake ran great. Was just cleaning the rave valves an seen the scoring so I tore it down to find this.