no spark

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

jeeprider

hey guys i just got a 97 challenger that needs a coil. had it tested today and it was grounding out should have a new one by friday. but when i crank it over oil pours out of the back cylinder. is there any way to clear this out? like a drain bolt like some of the snowmoblies have? im new to this jetdrive stuff. thanks

If the rotary valve seals are going bad in the engine cases it leaks oil from the rotary valve shaft area into the bottom of the engine. Just run it out and it should be ok to run. There isn't any type of plug to pull. The only cure it to replace the seals by splitting the cases and pulling the crank, then replace the seals. I would run it. You might foul a spark or 2, but it's cheaper then replacing the seals. It might only seep oil when it sets for a while, like over the winter unused months.

Karl

yea is it will run thats what ill do. its been sitting 4 a long time like two years. i'll just crank it over and see if i can get it out. just hope that its just my coil that is bad and not the mpem or the stator those cost more then i paid for the boat. but thanks for the info. i'll be back on here agian

jeep....test the white wire at coil, with 12v light tester. While hit'n start/stop button, it should light up, if not, then your coil aint the problem..

i did the test and my volt gauge moved but now my battery is dead. i'll do the test again tommorow at work with a charged battery and a GOOD volt gauge and let you know my findings.

also my lanard sometimes beeps and sometimes dont. should i get a new one?

alright, you got power in the white wire, which would inturn, tell the coil to "fire/spark". Cut the plug wires 1/4in, re-install boots, then install plug, and ground to head, and see if "spark" is there. If not, new coil..