Newbie here! 4 beeps cannot start 2007 Gti- relay???

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

sek3ch

I hope I'm putting this in the right place. I am new to this forum and have a 2007 SeaDoo GTi with 110 hours. Problem is, I may have to insert the key 20 times to get the two beeps to get it started. I hear the four beeps saying" you haven't started your jetski, but don't know if I should be able to hear the relay"click" as I 've heard in other posts..
I try rotating the key, over and over, trying different positions to no avail. PLEASE HELP!!!! Should I be able to hear the relay click in? I have a brand new battery with 12.8v.

I'd advise checking all your connections from the battery to the solenoid (including your engine ground) and testing voltage at the solenoid before doing anything else. Make sure each connection is clean and tight.

Will the engine kick over with the key on the post?

If it's intermittent, then it could be a bad DESS post or bad contact between the key and the post. Might try a light bit of sandpaper on the metal strip inside the key.

There is also a troubleshooting procedure in the Shop Manual to test the DESS post and its connections.

LargeJohn,
Thanks for the path forward- I have already done a few of these steps- the ground and posts on the battery are definitely tight and sandpaper was already accomplished on the old key and the other is bra new. Same result in both.
I will check voltage at the relay today but don't have a shop manual. It looks like Dess posts are pretty cheap, but don't understand why it would go "bad". I hate to say it, but the key system I absolutely despise. Wish they would go to maybe an RFID instead, or offer us another alternative. I'll continue the search. Thanks again for the path forward. I'll give you results later.