New ski owner!

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

stevenf

I am about to purchase a 98 gsx limited and a 97 xp that have been sitting since 2002. I am a quick learner with engines but because I have no prior experience with these machines I wanted to get some input from the pros.

Because they have been sitting for so long, I was going to rebuild the carbs, change air filter and spark plugs and clean old fuel like I would any engine sitting for this long.
I was curious if there is anything else I should check even after they are running to try and avoid further damage to expensive parts. Also, neither have a key, from my understanding they can run without the key but remain at idle...??? If this is the case, I can work on getting them running before purchasing a key...??? Are there any bearings and such that are easily accessable to re-grease?

No you are gonna need the keys to really do anything. You can at least crank it over by jumping the solenoid.

cleaning the Rave valves, changing the pump oil, and cleaning the fuel selectors are also important.

If you haven't bought these SeaDoos yet hold up. Without going into too much detail, you are likely to have more problems with skiis in storage for 9 years then skiis that have been in use.

How much are you going to pay for these?

Lou

I am paying $1,000.00 for a 98 gsx limited and a 97 xp with a double trailer. They were running fine but left to sit since about 2002.
Cosmetics are great minus some sun fading. Engine looks off the showroom floor. No oil,stains, cobwebs, nothing...
Considering I have seen a 98 limited online going for close to $1000.00 with a blown motor, I'd say im getting a pretty good deal.

What do you guys think?