Issues with the 2000 GTX RFi - ready to light it on fire and claim the insurance!

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

davistek

So, the last problem that I had was taken care of, the ski ran great for about a week. Started sputtering after about 4 tanks of gas - then the spark plugs needed to be changed. Ran good again - for about a tank of gas. Now, it is back from the lake and the issue it has is quite confusing. First let me start by saying I am a noob to the whole sea doo mechanics, I do build race bikes (Current project is a 2004 RC51) and I have been doing that for years.

Issues: Sea doo will not start.

Checked the plugs - they are good - I replaced them any way (and they have good spark)

Checked the ride plate (good)

Check the prop (nothing holding it back)

Battery is good and holding a charge.

When you try to start it, it acts as if someone has stuck a potato in the exhaust.

When I pulled the plugs after trying to start it, exhaust comes out quite strong. it acts like something is blocking the exhaust. It has good compression, in fact with the plugs back in it it will try to start and then start sounding like the battery is dead - but it is not - take the plugs out and it turns over like crazy.The first time it did this, I thought it was the motor seized up. I thought it was something blocking the prop, which is why I disassembled the entire drive system - nothing blocking it. I read on hear about the RAVE system - I am looking at cleaning that, but it seems to be quite a bit of work - they dont come out very easily from the looks of it you have to remove the header to get the valves out. Not sure about this - or if I am even chasing the right path, I could use some advice from you guys.

Appreciate any help

Thanks