Hull Repair on my 96XP

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

Krispy

Last year I purchased this ski for a great deal of craigslist. I focused on repairs above the waterline and mechanical in nature. I had a good season and now I have brought it back into the garage to fix the items below the waterline.

It appears as though the previous owner liked to beach the ski and hit everything he could with the ski.

I have some composites experience but it dealt mostly with laying up carbon prepreg into a mold to pop out prototype parts. I have done some wet layups but never repair of a gelcote (gelcoat?) surface.

My questions are as follows;

1: Should I bother repairing all the damage? As in will I see a noticeable performance increase by fixing it?

2. If I repair the damage how should I go about doing it? Can I fill the areas with Marine Tex and then sand down? Do I need to bust out fiber glass?

3. I would like to flip the ski to make it easier to work on but have no idea what the best method would be to do that . Any suggestions?

On to the damage pics!

^ This is worst of the damage, near the intake grate material missing off the chine.

Thanks for any and all help!

As far as performance loss I don't think so. Some of the racers used to think a rougher hull was faster and they used to drag brand new skis up and down the beach :facepalm:

ride plate and the back part of the hull would be the parts I would put the most work in rough hull will grip a corner faster like matt said good for racing. weekend worriers like my self smooth and polished is the way for spinning in circles and strait line speed. I used spot glaze on my hull and ride plate.