How tough to rebuild 717 seadoo engine? 96 speedster

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.
Pretty sure my lower end let loose today. Seized up.
I see rebuild kits online anywhere from 300-550. Complete rebuilt for $850-$1200 with core. It seems like a cracked rod or rod bearing. Looked in the pump and impeller is all clear but will disconnect pump to be sure. Driver side turns over by hand, pass side is frozen. It’s probably $1000-$1500 to have done in my local (3 hrs away) area

Since it's a jet boat, your first move is to remove the hood, split the cases, and then proceed from there.

I'm new to boats but not new to mechanics in the least bit. I recently had to tear down four 720 engines to build one good engine. I have enough good parts to build another, which I will do eventually. But I was running out of time in the season and just wanted to get on the water so I bought an SBT engine for my second engine.

They're not hard to build, IMO. It's more of a cost analysis than anything. You can't rebuild cranks yourself. So if your crank isn't reusable, you need to exchange it. The gasket set is about $100, so you're into the $600-700 range right there before you even turn a wrench. An SBT engine with one year warranty is $800. Don't know about you, but a day of my time is worth more than that cost difference.

Thank you so much. This is what I was wondering. I'll look into SBT...

Was the timing setting and syncing the motors tough?

Timing the RV is easy. If you don't have a degree ring, get one with your motor. They're $12, just follow the shop manual. If you're super-cheap, you can even print and cut them them from PDF's available for free online. That's the least of the worries.