2012 Speedster 150

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.
I do not own a supercharged version, but from what I understand you can take off the intake breather hose, reach in with your fingers and try to spin the turbine. If everything is in good shape and intact it is usually difficult to impossible to spin freely using just your fingers. If it is easy to spin then you likely have issues....
Any idea when the supercharger was last rebuilt?

If no other engine lights or codes when you run it, I would still lean toward a supercharger issue.

I am no expert with the superchargers, but from what I have read, they still need to be rebuilt based on time despite what Seadoo says. Think most people are still recommending every 2 years or so to be safe. Has something to do with the plastic needle bearing cages they use which become brittle and fail over time. If it grenades those small bearings get thrown all through the engine.

Since you cannot confirm it ever being rebuilt since 2012, it needs to come off and be rebuilt now. I would take it off and inspect very closely. See if all parts are still there, especially bearings, and there is not play in the shaft. Lots of youtube videos showing ins/outs of these things. If all looks good and no parts missing you dogged a bullet, and we'll need to dig a bit deeper into your issue.

Pulled the boot, I can barely move the blades. Feels very tight. Hoping that eliminates the supercharger?
Yes, should be fine. Your symptoms sound like mine this year first time out, but new plugs fixed it on the spot for me. They were new plugs you put in when you changed them?!

If no other engine lights or codes when you run it, I would still lean toward a supercharger issue.