Fixing 99 Challenger 1800

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

Clivingston

I have a 99 challenger that has two motors that are flooded. One motor was bought earlier this year and has a no fault warranty. I'm in the process of taking the motor out and have hit a wall. Im new at all this and working off videos and forums. Im to the point where i need to get the exhaust off but im having problems. I have removed the big clamp and all the hoses, loosing the boot that goes to the water tank thing. I have taken out the bolts at the manifold. Cant get it free. Im not putting alot of force bc there is alot i cant see or know so. Any input would be helpful in this process. This boat has two 787 rotax in it. one new under warrant and one orginal that will have to be rebuilt. project for another day. my plan is to just put a new motor along with the warranty one. Any advise on motor removal and install would be helpful.

And i just noticed that this is in the PWC instead of Boat, My bad, Dont know how to delete or move. Admin if yall catch it please feel free to do both.

Last edited by a moderator:
Well i dont remember a big clamp on the 787 pipe... unless you are refering to the hose clamp at the end of the stinger. Well you should be able to loosen all the allan bolts, then get a pry bar and wiggle. wiggle and it should pop free off the exhaust manifold. A rubber mallet helps sometimes as well if it is really stubborn. To avoid a mess, I loop the RV cavity oil lines so it does not leak all over (clamp the input line and leave in boat, then take the return/vent line and loop down to the lower rv nipple. That also keeps debris from entering the rv cavity.