Difficulty Starting, Any Help Appreciated

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.
My apologies in advance for bogging down the forum with another thread about having difficulties with ignition, but I am a broke college student so my only option is to fix it myself. I apologize for a few lacking details the machine belongs to a friend of mine who also owns another seadoo, so if I fix it I get to ride it.

From the beginning:

The machine is an early model 3-d with a 4 stroke engine. It sat for a few years before we decided to take it out again. Surprisingly enough we were able to get it to start up on trailer with a new battery. The next day we took it out to the lake where we had trouble getting it to start in the water. We took it out and after a few minutes we were able to start it up again on the trailer, we kept it running for awhile in order to burn off some of the old fuel that was still in the tank (yes bad). Filled it up with some new gas, got it back in the water, and it started up and ran well for about an hour. During this time we were able to kill it and restart it without any problems. My only complaint is that it did seem somewhat sluggish coming out of corners. Also the top speed that we were able to reach with the throttle open did not seem like its full potential. I was able to play around on it for about an hour doing tight turns and jumping on the throttle, during this time it worked fine. Then as I was cruising at top speed in a straight line for about 500 yards the machine completely died on me in the middle of the lake. It did not throttle down, enter limp mode, change sounds, or give any signs of dying it just quit.