Check valves connected to the fuel system vs fuel starvation

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

DooYouSea

First of all, thanks for this excellent forum. This is my first try to solve a technical problem related to my Seadoo (that used to work like a charm for years now) and I found highly relevant information here.

I am currently experiencing what looks like a fuel delivery problem on my 1996 GTS. From a cold start, the engine behaves just as usual and runs great for about 10 minutes. Then, the RPM gets lower and lower at full stroke until it dies. From then on, I need to rest for a few minutes and then, restart the engine that would run like new but only for half a minute or so. Then, the RPM gets lower again and so on... I started to investigate the problem and one of the thing I found out so far is that my check valve for the air pressure regulation on the side of the hull is defective (no air flows across in any direction) but the other one is still working good (air flows towards the fuel tank only) and I guess this may be my problem.

Then I found this very interesting thread started by JPX titled "Troubleshoot Fuel Delivery Problems : low revs, bogging, surging". Since

In this thread, it is mentioned as follows:

7. Check all fuel hose connections are tight and that the check valves freely blow one way, but do not the other (one above the fuel tank and one on the side of the hull from the fuel tank):

So, this may confirm my hypothesis. But thinking about it, I now have a few question.

- Why two such check valves in parallel? Why not only one?
- Why using these two locations (above the fuel tank and on the side of the hull)?
- Could only one defective keep the system from working properly?